Omomuki藝術基金會目前有提供給音樂家和舞蹈家項目資金資助的機會。

 

2018年 受賞者

Harold O’Neal
Harold O’Neal是一位坦桑尼亞裔美籍鋼琴家兼作曲家,“他的風格被專業評論家描述為腳跨於爵士樂與古典樂。” 他的作品還被紐約時報(New York Times),美國國家公共電臺(National Public Radio)的All Things Considered(全面考慮)和Fresh Air(新鮮空氣)節目,財富雜誌(Fortune Magazine), 以及公共國際電臺(Public Radio International)提到過。Omomuki基金會參與他的第二張鋼琴獨奏和鋼琴影視專輯制作和發行的部分資助。

Yosuke Onuma & Joe Powers
Yosuke Onuma是日本最重要的爵士吉他演奏者之一。他用指尖撥動琴弦的演奏風格獨樹一幟。Joe Powers是一名口琴藝術大師,他以資深探戈藝術家的背景享有世界名譽。除此以外,他在音樂上的興趣探索還包括爵士樂融合,古典樂,藍調,流行搖滾,巴西樂,嘻哈樂,以及拉丁樂。
.

茱莉亞學院 (The Julliard School)
成立於1905年的茱莉亞學院是全世界表演藝術教育的領航者。坐落於紐約市的林肯中心,茱莉亞學院提供了舞蹈,音樂和戲劇相關的本科和研究生學位。

Nicholas King
鋼琴家Nicholas King獲得了奧伯林音樂學院的藝術家證書,和多倫多皇家音樂學院格倫古爾德學院表演證書。他目前正在紐約市茱莉亞學院的研究生項目學習。他曾贏得了多倫多皇家音樂學院格倫古爾德學院協奏曲比賽,並獲得了美國國會頒發的認可勛章。他曾在華特迪斯尼音樂廳(2010年),波蘭托倫阿圖斯莊園大廳與托倫交響樂團(2010年),和卡內基音樂廳(2012年)進行過表演。他也參與了Rosie O’Donnell脫口秀和美國全國公共廣播電臺的錄制。Omomuki基金會贊助了他2018年4月的公開沙龍音樂會和6月在卡內基音樂廳舉辦的獨奏音樂會。

程序
程序先生曾在上海音樂學院進行學習,並在意大利佩魯賈同Ashdod交響樂團首次登臺表演。他目前在紐約市茱莉亞學院進行為期四年的學習,並被該校的音樂專業本碩連讀快速項目錄取。他參與了茱莉亞學院的Gluck社團服務獎學金項目(Gluck Community Service Fellowship)以及Omomuki的GMHC音樂項目。Omomuki基金會為他2018年3月的公開沙龍音樂會表演提供了贊助。表演中他為聽眾獻上了拉威爾,巴哈和肖邦的作品。

酷文化 (Cool Culture)

酷文化為紐約市的兒童及其家庭提供藝術與文化體驗機會,旨在幫助這些幼年時期的兒童提高讀寫能力,為將來在學校學習的成功奠定基礎。每一年,酷文化都會與90個博物館和文化機構,以及400個兒童相關組織和公立學校合作,免費提供給超過5萬個低收入家庭不限次數的遊覽該城市博物館的機會。

過古典生活(Living the Classical Life)
過古典生活”是一個設立於美國的非盈利項目。此項目致力於持續制作出品訪談和藝術家近距離表演視頻。由Zsolt Bognár擔任主持,“過古典生活”通過與古典藝術實踐家的交談探索古典音樂世界。Omomuki基金會贊助了法國音樂會鋼琴師Jean-Yves Thibaudet和美國女高音歌唱家Nadine Sierra 的采訪視頻拍攝。

亞洲文化協會 (Asian Cultural Council)
亞洲文化協會(Asian Cultural Council,簡稱ACC)旨在透過向亞洲及美國之藝術家、學者、藝術及文化界專才、 團體及教育機構頒發獎助金,資助其於亞洲各國及美國進行之研究、考察及創作,藉以支持及促進國際間的文化藝術人才與活動交流。Omomuki基金會為亞洲文化委員會之下的個人獎學金項目提供部分資金。

日本社團 (Japan Society)
日本社團是一家在全球的背景下致力於深化日美間相互理解溝通的領先美國組織。如今已是該組織成立后的第二個百年,日本社團繼續通過各種創新項目向其美國以及海外的受眾傳播藝術,文化,公共政策,經濟,語言和教育信息。

波特蘭日本花園 (Portland Japanese Garden)
波特蘭日本花園在俄勒岡州波特蘭市建造,維護並經營著地道的世界級日本花園。它也對外提供跟教育,文化,藝術,園藝,環境以及慈善相關的活動。Omomuki基金會部分贊助了花園的2018年音樂項目。該項目集結了許多來自日本和美國的音樂家。

2017年 受賞者

Shawn Head & Eric Charnofsky

Shawn Head是一位尺八演奏家兼作曲家,並一直追求在傳統日本及現代西方藝術形式中普及尺八。他是獲得大師認證(Shihan, Master’s Certification)中最為年輕的非日本籍八尺演奏家。他在克利夫蘭音樂學院獲得了學士學位,並跟隨八尺演奏大師Michael Chikuzen Gould和Kaoru Kakizakai進行學習。他曾接受包括“表演藝術家支持反核武器”(Performers and Artist for Nuclear Disarmament)在內的多個組織的委托,為長崎和廣島核彈事件70周年紀念日創作了結合了日本傳統音樂和鮮明的西方作曲風格的作品。

Eric Charnosfsky是一位獲得了加州州立大學和茱莉亞音樂學院學位的鋼琴演奏家和作曲家。他目前在凱斯西儲大學(Case Western Reserve University)教授鍵盤合奏。Charnofsky先生曾在茱莉亞音樂學選預科部門任職,也曾是聖芭芭拉的西部音樂學院(Music Academy of the West)副教職員工中的一員。

Omomuki基金會即將委托贊助以上兩位藝術家,讓Charnofksy先生譜寫,並由Head先生演奏及錄制一首原創尺八作品。

Dr. Ray Iwazumi & Toshiki Usui
Ray Iwazumi博士是一名日裔美籍小提琴演奏家,作曲家,作家和教師。他在茱莉亞音樂學院完成了他的音樂學士學位,音樂碩士學位,和音樂博士學位,並收獲了理查德弗蘭奇獎(Richard French Prize)。他還在布魯塞爾皇家音樂學院獲得了小提琴和室內樂的兩個碩士學位。他曾深度研究歐仁伊薩伊(Eugène Ysaÿe)的第二十七號六首小提琴獨奏奏鳴曲(Six Sonates pour violon seul, Op. 27)並在這些標誌性的大師作品中挖掘出重要發現。他為這些作品所錄制的CD和表演的音樂會受到了高度好評。他目前在茱莉亞音樂學院任職。

Toshiki Usui是一位畢業於東京大學藝術系和薩爾茨堡莫紮特音樂大學的日本鋼琴演奏家。他在贏得意大利坎圖國際鋼琴比賽之後初次登臺演出並廣受好評。他的曾巡演遍布了歐洲,美國,前蘇聯,中美洲,中東和亞洲,並曾在聯合國贊助支持下舉辦慈善音樂會。

Omomuki基金會於2017年11月在紐約市為Iwazumi先生和Usui先生提供贊助並舉辦了一場公開沙龍音樂會。

Seymour Bernstein
Seymour Bernstein是一位美國鋼琴演奏家,作曲家,教師和退伍軍人。他曾在亞洲,歐洲以及美洲各地演出,並收獲了多個藝術獎項——法國楓丹白露鎮雅克杜蘭大獎賽(Prix Jacques Durand)一等獎,兩項瑪莎拜爾德洛克菲勒(Martha Baird Rockefeller)獎金和四項美國國務院頒發的獎金。他曾寫作出版了包括《用你的雙手》(With Your Own Two Hands)在內的四本書,並作為主題焦點人物搬上了2015年紀錄片《人生樂師: 西摩傳》(Seymour: An Introduction)的熒幕。Bernstein先生是美國最受歡迎的教師之一,並在紐約擁有一家私人藝術工作室。目前他也在紐約大學音樂及音樂教育系兼任副教授一職。Omomuki基金會為Bernstein的一位學生——一名英國鋼琴演奏家Clair Hiles的公開獨奏會和招待會提供了贊助。

Harold O’Neal
Harold O’Neal是一名美籍坦桑尼亞裔鋼琴家和作曲家。“專業評論家認為他的作品介於爵士和古典音樂之間。” 他2011年發行的專輯 “Marvelous Fantasy” 中的一系列原創鋼琴獨奏作品受到了Maurice Ravel和Claude Debussy作品的影響,並向默片配樂致敬。他的作品還被紐約時報(New York Times),美國國家公共電臺(National Public Radio)的All Things Considered(全面考慮)和Fresh Air(新鮮空氣)節目,以及公共國際電臺(Public Radio International)提到過。Omomuki基金會在他名為 “鋼琴影院”(Piano Cinema)的新專輯發行之前為他贊助舉辦了一次私人音樂會。

Paul V. Turner

Paul V. Turner是斯坦福大學榮譽藝術教授。他曾發表的文章內容涉及到建築師勒‧柯布西耶(Le Corbusier),弗蘭克‧羅伊德‧萊特(Frank Lloyd Wright),约瑟夫‧拉美(Joseph Ramée),以及美國校園歷史。Omomuki基金會贊助了Turner教授在紐約市現代藝術博物館舉辦的一次講座,該講座主要討論了建築師弗蘭克‧羅伊德‧萊特在舊金山灣區的一些創作。

Douglas Brooks
Douglas Brooks是一名擅長制作傳統木船的美國手工藝師。他曾十七次到日本去尋訪年長的造船大師,總共旅途路程超過三萬英裏。他在1996年到2010年期間,與其中的五位七十多,八十多歲的大師共同合作造船。Brooks也是很多這些大師中唯一也是最後的學徒。Omomuki基金會為Brooks先生在紐約市日本協會的講座提供贊助。他在講座中分享了他在日本學習並記錄造船技術的經過。

酷文化 (Cool Culture)

酷文化為紐約市的兒童及其家庭提供藝術與文化體驗機會,旨在幫助這些幼年時期的兒童提高讀寫能力,為將來在學校學習的成功奠定基礎。每一年,酷文化都會與90個博物館和文化機構,以及400個兒童相關組織和公立學校合作,免費提供給超過5萬個低收入家庭不限次數的遊覽該城市博物館的機會。

Lisa Downing
Lisa Downing是一位獲得了兩次艾美獎提名的作曲家,鋼琴家和錄音藝術家。她曾發行兩張原創鋼琴作品專輯,並在美國,西班牙,阿根廷和德國進行過演出。她的最新專輯《Wisdom of My Shadow》收錄了一首名為“Torii Gates”的作品。該作品旨在向日本八戶人民致敬。在2011年日本海嘯期間,日本八戶市的神社鳥居(Shinto Shrine Gates)被遺失,兩年後在俄勒岡海岸被發現,之後被送還日本。2016年,日本在其於Okuki海灣的原址重新樹立。Omomuki基金會贊助了該藝術家為日本八戶市的訪問官員和學生,在俄勒岡州波特蘭市日本花園舉行的“Torii Gates”演出。

 

日本社團 (Japan Society)
日本社團是一家在全球的背景下致力於深化日美間相互理解溝通的領先美國組織。如今已是該組織成立后的第二個百年,日本社團繼續通過各種創新項目向其美國以及海外的受眾傳播藝術,文化,公共政策,經濟,語言和教育信息。Omomuki兩次部分贊助了“Talks+”活動。此次活動討論了日本藝術,文化與設計中所涉及的問題及主題,和Moto Osada的小型歌劇“四夜的夢”(Four Nights of Dream) 的制作。

過古典生活(Living the Classical Life)
過古典生活”是一個設立於美國的非盈利項目。此項目致力於持續制作出品訪談和藝術家近距離表演視頻。由Zsolt Bognár擔任主持,“過古典生活”通過與古典藝術實踐家的交談探索古典音樂世界。Omomuki基金會為拍攝鋼琴演奏家Seymour Bernstein,大提琴演奏家Alisa Weilerstein,作曲家John Corigliano以及女中音歌唱家Joyce DiDonato的采訪和表演提供贊助。

 

波特蘭日本花園 (Portland Japanese Garden)
波特蘭日本花園在俄勒岡州波特蘭市建造,維護並經營著地道的世界級日本花園。它也對外提供跟教育,文化,藝術,園藝,環境以及慈善相關的活動。該花園被譽為北美最大的兩個日本文化機構之壹,並於近日開辦了國際日本花園藝術文化協會。

Nicholas King
鋼琴家Nicholas King在Oberlin音樂學院和皇家音樂學院古爾德學院分別獲得了藝術證書和表演證書。他於2008年獲得了Jack Kent Cooke獎,並在美國帕德萊夫斯基鋼琴比賽中獲得了評審選擇獎。除此之外他還在皇家音樂學院古爾德學院協奏曲大賽中獲勝,並獲得了美國國會認可勛章。2010年,他在迪士尼交響音樂廳舉行過演出。那年,他還在波蘭跟隨多倫交響樂團在Arthus House的音樂大廳進行表演。2012年,他在卡耐基音樂廳進行演出,並參加了Rosie O’Donnell和NPR廣播台的節目錄製。他目前就讀於Juilliard學校。Omomuki基金會為King先生在南漢普頓文化中心(Southampton Culture Center)的表演提供排練及表演場所。

2016年 受賞者

Liz Story
Liz Story是一名美國鋼琴家和作曲家。在上個世紀80年代,Story憑借其新世紀音樂作品在該領域獲得名聲。期間她也在美國作為Windham Hill唱片公司和RCA Novus唱片公司的錄音師不斷進行巡回演出。她是當代獨奏鋼琴藝術的開創人之一。她的音樂形式不僅不拘泥於傳統框架,還融合了許多其它不同音樂風格。她已經為Windham Hill,RCA和DMI唱片公司發行了12張獨奏鋼琴專輯,並獲得了3項格萊美提名。

 

Tara Hardy
Tara Hardy是一位居於蒙特利爾市的插畫師和平面設計師。她的作品運用復古肖像和拼貼畫手法,探討了包括環保,人權,動物福利等問題。她的作品經常被刊登在《紐約客雜誌》(The New Yorker)和《環球郵報》(The Globe and Mail)。Omomuki基金會為Hardy和她的助理提供了一個周末的參觀探索曼哈頓藝術畫廊的機會。這次參觀旨在為她目前正在創作的一個作品提供靈感。她將把成品拍賣並把所得款項捐助給一家當地動物福利組織。

 

Lisa Downing
Lisa Downing是一位獲得了兩次艾美獎提名的作曲家,鋼琴家和錄音藝術家。她曾發行兩張原創鋼琴作品專輯,並在美國,西班牙,阿根廷和德國進行過演出。她的最新專輯《Wisdom of My Shadow》收錄了一首名為“Torii Gates”的作品。該作品旨在向日本八戶人民致敬。在2011年日本海嘯期間,日本八戶市的神社鳥居(Shinto Shrine Gates)被遺失,兩年後在俄勒岡海岸被發現,之後被送還日本。2016年,日本在其於Okuki海灣的原址重新樹立。Omomuki基金會贊助了其CD日文版的發行,並捐助了300張專輯給那些參與歸還此神社鳥居的工作者和受到2011海嘯影響的八戶市居民。

 

過古典生活(Living the Classical Life)
過古典生活”是一個設立於美國的非盈利項目。此項目致力於持續制作出品訪談和藝術家近距離表演視頻。由Zsolt Bognár擔任主持,“過古典生活”通過與古典藝術實踐家的交談探索古典音樂世界。Omomuki基金會為鋼琴家Caroline Oltmanns和歌劇演唱家Deborah Voigt的采訪與表演的影視拍攝提供資助。

 

Nakane Shiro
Nakane Shiro 是Nakane聯合公司總裁。Nakane公司是一家坐落於日本京都的園藝研究中心和景觀咨詢機構。這家由他父親,一位日本傳統景觀設計師Nakane Kinsaku創立的公司,以修復本國因歷史而逐漸衰老的花園和為全世界的客戶建造新花園而著稱。Omomuki基金會資助了Nakane先生於2016年4月在紐約市日本協會舉行的日本園藝設計講座。

 

日本社團 (Japan Society)
日本社團是一家在全球的背景下致力於深化日美間相互理解溝通的領先美國組織。如今已是該組織成立后的第二個百年,日本社團繼續通過各種創新項目向其美國以及海外的受眾傳播藝術,文化,公共政策,經濟,語言和教育信息。Omomuki基金會為日本協會的“Talks+”項目提供部分資助。此次活動討論了日本藝術,文化與設計中所涉及的問題及主題。

亞洲文化協會 (Asian Cultural Council)
亞洲文化協會(Asian Cultural Council,簡稱ACC)旨在透過向亞洲及美國之藝術家、學者、藝術及文化界專才、 團體及教育機構頒發獎助金,資助其於亞洲各國及美國進行之研究、考察及創作,藉以支持及促進國際間的文化藝術人才與活動交流。Omomuki基金會為亞洲文化委員會之下的個人獎學金項目提供部分資金。

 

波特蘭日本花園 (Portland Japanese Garden)
波特蘭日本花園在俄勒岡州波特蘭市建造,維護並經營著地道的世界級日本花園。它也對外提供跟教育,文化,藝術,園藝,環境以及慈善相關的活動。該花園被譽為北美最大的兩個日本文化機構之壹,並於近日開辦了國際日本花園藝術文化協會。 Omomuki向其笠置計劃(Kasagi Project)提供資金,協調歸還隨2011年日本東北部海嘯漂至到俄勒岡州的神道教文物。

董柏霖 (Po-Ling Tung)
董先生是壹名現居於倫敦的舞蹈家。他曾在國立臺北藝術大學進行了四年的舞蹈學習訓練。之後,他在臺灣,美國和墨西哥跟隨許芳宜與藝術家(Fang Yi Sheu and Artists),格爾西科克蘭古典芭蕾學院(Gelsey Kirkland Academy of Classical Ballet),塔尼亞佩雷茲薩拉斯舞蹈團(Tania Pérez-Salas compañía de Danza),芭蕾舞蹈公司(Ballet Inc.),熱情集體當代表演藝術團(Zest Collective Contemporary Performing Arts)以及陳乃霓舞團進行表演。董先生目前是Wayne McGregor | Random Dance的签约舞者。Omomuki基金會為董先生提供的遊學金涵蓋了他在荷蘭和英格蘭參加舞蹈班學習,以及參加一些歐洲舞團面試的費用。

Nicholas King
鋼琴家Nicholas King在Oberlin音樂學院和皇家音樂學院古爾德學院分別獲得了藝術證書和表演證書。他於2008年獲得了Jack Kent Cooke獎,並在美國帕德萊夫斯基鋼琴比賽中獲得了評審選擇獎。除此之外他還在皇家音樂學院古爾德學院協奏曲大賽中獲勝,並獲得了美國國會認可勛章。2010年,他在迪士尼交響音樂廳舉行過演出。那年,他還在波蘭跟隨多倫交響樂團在Arthus House的音樂大廳進行表演。2012年,他在卡耐基音樂廳進行演出,並參加了Rosie O’Donnell和NPR廣播台的節目錄製。他目前就讀於Juilliard學校。Omomuki基金會為King先生提供了排練及表演場所,為他申請Juiliard藝術學校的研究生項目面試做準備。之後他被成功錄取,目前已經開始參加學習。

回報的藝術 (Art of Giving Back)
回報的藝術(Art of Giving Back)旨在為年輕人提供了解古典音樂的渠道,幫助激勵年輕學生熱愛並追求古典音樂這一職業,以及幫助古典音樂專業的新畢業生獲取寶貴的表演機會和職場人脈的建立。Omomuki基金會為該組織提供部分資金,使其能夠幫助古典音樂專業學生和新畢業生尋找表演機會。

2015年 受賞者

亞洲文化協會 (Asian Cultural Council)
亞洲文化協會(Asian Cultural Council,簡稱ACC)旨在透過向亞洲及美國之藝術家、學者、藝術及文化界專才、 團體及教育機構頒發獎助金,資助其於亞洲各國及美國進行之研究、考察及創作,藉以支持及促進國際間的文化藝術人才與活動交流。

 

Liz Story
Liz Story是一名美國鋼琴家和作曲家。她在Windham Hill, RCA和DMI三家唱片公司發行了十二張個人獨奏鋼琴曲專輯,並收獲過三項格萊美音樂獎提名。Story經歷過專業音乐訓練,且曾在紐約市的Hunter學院和Juilliard音樂學院完成古典鋼琴專業學習,並跟隨Sanford Gold和Dick Grove學習過爵士鋼琴。

 

過古典生活(Living the Classical Life)
過古典生活”是一個設立於美國的非盈利項目。此項目致力於持續制作出品訪談和藝術家近距離表演視頻。由Zsolt Bognár擔任主持,“過古典生活”通過與古典藝術實踐家的交談探索古典音樂世界。

 

董柏霖 (Po-Ling Tung)
PoLin董先生是壹名旅居紐約的舞蹈家。他曾在國立臺北藝術大學進行了四年的舞蹈學習訓練。之後,他在臺灣,美國和墨西哥跟隨許芳宜與藝術家(Fang Yi Sheu and Artists),格爾西科克蘭古典芭蕾學院(Gelsey Kirkland Academy of Classical Ballet),塔尼亞佩雷茲薩拉斯舞蹈團(Tania Pérez-Salas compañía de Danza),芭蕾舞蹈公司(Ballet Inc.)以及熱情集體當代表演藝術團(Zest Collective Contemporary Performing Arts)進行表演。他於2015九月加入陳乃霓舞團。Omomuki為董先生提供部分旅行資金,幫助他跟隨塔尼亞佩雷茲薩拉斯舞蹈團訓練,並於2015年6月隨團在華盛頓特區肯尼迪中心(Kennedy Center)和洛杉磯音樂中心(Los Angeles Music Center)進行演出。

波特蘭日本花園(Portland Japanese Garden)
波特蘭日本花園在俄勒岡州波特蘭市建造,維護並經營著地道的世界級日本花園。它也對外提供跟教育,文化,藝術,園藝,環境以及慈善相關的活動。該花園被譽為北美最大的兩個日本文化機構之壹,並於近日開辦了國際日本花園藝術文化協會。 Omomuki向其笠置計劃(Kasagi Project)提供資金,協調歸還隨2011年日本東北部海嘯漂至到俄勒岡州的神道教文物。

Kirk Bauer
BauerBauer先生在得克薩斯州大學獲得了藝術學士學位,並在紐約市的紐約視覺藝術學院獲得了攝影專業的藝術碩士學位。Bauer先生說:“我認為現代印象主義最能夠用來描述我的作品。我的藝術作品結合了傳統的制圖方式和現代的數碼圖像科技。我最主要的藝術表達媒介是把墨汁應用到拉絲鋁上的圖像。墨汁濃郁,時而富有不透光的質感,時而又顯出透明的金屬光澤。圖像的生成結合了手工繪制以及電腦繪制的線條。”Omomuki在紐約市為Bauer先生協辦了作品展覽接待會。

Omomuki Art Grants provide artists with project-specific funding, provided that it contributes to the community and promotes cross-cultural learning. Priority is give to new, original works.

2018 Recipients

Xu Cheng
Mr. Cheng attended the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and made his orchestral debut with the Ashdod Symphony Orchestra in Perugia, Italy. He is currently a fourth-year student at The Juilliard School in New York City, and has been accepted into their Accelerated Bachelor of Music / Master of Music degree program. He is a participant in Juilliard’s Gluck Community Service Fellowship and Omomuki’s GMHC music program. The Omomuki grant funded a March 2018 public salon concert of the works of Ravel, Brahms, and Chopin.

Living the Classical Life
Living the Classical Life is a US-based non-profit that produces an ongoing series of filmed interviews and intimate performances. Hosted by Zsolt Bognár, Living the Classical Life explores the world of classical music through conversations with its practitioners. The Omomuki grant contributed to the filming of interviews with French concert pianist Jean-Yves Thibaudet and American soprano Nadine Sierra.

Asian Cultural Council
Asian Cultural Council supports transformative cultural exchange by awarding grants to artists, scholars, and arts and humanities professionals, as well as organizations and educational institutions from the United States and Asia for research, study, and creative work in the United States and Asia and within the countries of Asia.

Japan Society
Japan Society is a leading U.S. organization committed to deepening understanding between the United States and Japan in a global context. Now in its second century, the Society serves audiences across the United States and abroad through innovative programs in arts and culture, public policy, business, language and education.

2017 Recipients

Shawn Head & Eric Charnofsky

Shawn Head is shakuhachi flutist and composer whose goal is to popularize the shakuhachi in both traditional Japanese and modern Western forms. He is the youngest non-Japanese shakuhachi flutist to receive a Shihan (Master’s Certification). He earned his undergraduate degree at the Cleveland Institute of Music, and has studied with shakuhachi masters including Michael Chikuzen Gould and Kaoru Kakizakai. His compositions, which combine Japanese traditional music with a distinct western compositional style, have been commissioned by organizations including Performers and Artist for Nuclear Disarmament to mark the 70th anniversary of the Nagasaki and Hiroshima nuclear bombings.

Eric Charnofsky is a pianist and composer who holds degrees from California State University and The Juilliard School. He currently teaches keyboard ensemble at Case Western Reserve University. Mr. Charnofsky served on the faculty in the pre-college division of the Juilliard School, and was an Associate Faculty member for eight summers at the Music Academy of the West in Santa Barbara.

The Omomuki grant will commission Mr. Charnofsky to compose, and Mr. Head to record and perform, an original work for shakuhachi flute.

Dr. Ray Iwazumi & Toshiki Usui

Dr. Ray Iwazumi is a Japanese-American violinist, composer, writer, and teacher. He completed his B.M., M.M., and D.M.A., degrees, and was awarded the Richard French Prize, at The Juilliard School; and completed two Masters degrees in violin and chamber music at the Brussels Royal Conservatory. His research on Eugène Ysaÿe’s Six Sonates pour violon seul, Op. 27 is highly regarded, and his performances of the same critically acclaimed. He is currently on the faculty at The Juilliard School.

Toshiki Usui is a Japanese pianist who studied at Tokyo University for Fine Arts and Salzburg Mozarteum. He made his international debut after winning the Cantu International Competition in Italy. He tours extensively throughout Europe, the U.S., Central America, the Middle East, and Asia, as well as for charity concerts under the aegis of the U.N.

The Omomuki grant funded a public salon concert with Mssrs. Iwazumi and Usui in New York City in November of 2017.

Seymour Bernstein

Seymour Bernstein is an American pianist, composer, teacher, and army veteran. He has performed in Asia, Europe, and throughout the Americas, and is the recipient of numerous awards including First Prize and Prix Jacques Durand at Fontainebleau, two Martha Baird Rockefeller grants, and four State Department grants. He is the author of four books, including With Your Own Two Hands, and the subject of the 2015 documentary film Seymour: An Introduction. Mr. Bernstein is one of the most sought-after clinicians in this country, and maintains a private studio in New York City. He is an Adjunct Associate Professor of Music and Music Education at New York University. The Omomuki grant funded a public recital and reception of one of Mr. Bernstein’s students, the British pianist Clair Hiles.

Harold O’Neal

Harold O’Neal is a Tanzanian-American pianist and composer “whose style has been pegged by critics as straddling the line between jazz and classical music.” His 2011 album Marvelous Fantasy is a collection of original solo piano compositions influenced by the works of Maurice Ravel and Claude Debussy and an homage to music of silent films. His work has been featured in the New York Times, on NPR’s All Things Considered and Fresh Air, and on PRI. The Omomuki grant funded a private concert in advance of the release of his most recent album of original piano compositions, Piano Cinema.

Paul V. Turner

Paul V. Turner is a Professor of Art, Emeritus, at Stanford University. His publications include works on the architects Le Corbusier, Frank Lloyd Wright, Joseph Ramée, and the history of the American campus. The Omomuki grant funded a lecture by Professor Turner at The Museum of Modern Art in New York City, on Frank Lloyd Wright’s works in the San Francisco Bay area.

Douglas Brooks

Douglas Brooks is an American craftsman specializing in traditional wooden boats. Over the course of 17 trips to Japan, he traveled over 30,000 miles to seek out and interview Japan’s elderly master boatbuilders; he built boats with five of them, all in their seventies and eighties, between 1996 and 2010. For most of them, Brooks was their sole and last apprentice. The Omomuki grant funded a lecture by Mr. Brooks at the Japan Society in New York City, about his efforts to document Japanese wooden boatbuilding techniques.

Cool Culture

Cool Culture provides New York City children and their families access to arts and culture as a way to increase literacy and learning in early childhood, and to prepare children to succeed in school. Each year, Cool Culture partners with 90 museums and cultural institutions and 400 early childhood programs and public schools to provide over 50,000 low-income families with free, unlimited access to the city’s museums.

Lisa Downing

Lisa Downing is a three-time Emmy Award-nominated composer, pianist, and recording artist. She has released five albums of original piano composition, and has performed for audiences in the U.S., Spain, Argentina, and Germany. Her most recent release is Wisdom of My Shadow, which contains the track “Torii Gates,” in tribute to the people Hachinohe whose sacred Shinto shrine gates were lost in the 2011 tsunami, recovered two years later on the Oregon coast, and returned to Japan and re-erected in their original place in Okuki Bay in 2016. The Omomuki grant funded a performance of “Torii Gates” at the Portland, Oregon Japanese Garden for a visiting delegation of public officials and schoolchildren from Hachinohe.

Japan Society

Japan Society is the leading U.S. organization committed to deepening mutual understanding between the United States and Japan in a global context. Now in its second century, the Society serves audiences across the United States and abroad through innovative programs in arts and culture, public policy, business, language and education. Two Omomuki grants have funded in part the “Talks+” program, which examines issues and themes in modern Japanese art, culture and design, and the production of Moto Osada’s Four Nights of Dream chamber opera.

Living the Classical Life

Living the Classical Life is a US-based non-profit that produces an ongoing series of filmed interviews and intimate performances. Hosted by Zsolt Bognár, Living the Classical Life explores the world of classical music through conversations with its practitioners. The Omomuki grant contributed to the filming of interviews and performances with pianist Seymour Bernstein, cellist Alisa Weilerstein, composer John Corigliano, and mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato.

Portland Japanese Garden
The Portland Japanese Garden creates, maintains, and administers an authentic, world-class Japanese garden in the city of Portland, Oregon, and offers educational, cultural, artistic, horticultural, environmental, and charitable activities. It is considered to be one of two primary Japanese cultural institutions in North America, and recently launched its International Institute for Japanese Garden Arts and Culture.

Nicholas King

Pianist Nicholas King has an Artist Diploma from Oberlin Conservatory of Music and a Performance Diploma from The Royal Conservatory of Music – Glenn Gould School. He received the 2008 Jack Kent Cooke Award and the Jury’s Choice Award at the American Paderewski Competition. He won the Royal Conservatory of Music Glenn Gould School Concerto Competition, and was awarded the U.S. Congressional Medal of Recognition. He has performed at Walt Disney Concert Hall (2010), the Grand Hall of the Arthus House in Torun, Poland with the Torun Symphony Orchestra (2010), and Carnegie Hall (2012); and appeared on the Rosie O’Donnell Show and National Public Radio. The Omomuki grant provided Mr. King with rehearsal and performance space to prepare for his performance at the Southampton Cultural Center.

2016 Recipients

Liz Story

Liz Story is an American pianist and composer. In the 1980s, Story emerged as a prominent figure in new age music while frequently touring the United States, and as a recording artist at Windham Hill Records and RCA Novus Records. She is one of the foremost pioneers of contemporary solo piano. Her music style defies traditional description, and her works cross many musical genres. She has published twelve albums of solo piano work for Windham Hill, RCA and DMI, and has received three Grammy nominations. The Omomuki grant funded a free performance by Ms. Story for clients of GMHC, a leading provider of HIV/AIDS prevention, care and advocacy in New York City.


Tara Hardy

Tara Hardy is a Montreal-based illustrator and graphic artist. Her work frequently incorporates vintage iconography and collage, and treats issues including environmental conservation, human rights, and animal welfare. Her work has appeared regularly in The New Yorker and The Globe and Mail.

Lisa Downing

Lisa Downing is a two-time Emmy Award-nominated composer, pianist, and recording artist. She has released five albums of original piano composition, and has performed for audiences in the U.S., Spain, Argentina, and Germany. Her most recent release is Wisdom of My Shadow, which contains the track “Torii Gates,” in tribute to the people Hachinohe whose sacred Shinto shrine gates were lost in the 2011 tsunami, recovered two years later on the Oregon coast, and returned to Japan and re-erected in their original place in Okuki Bay in 2016. The Omomuki grant funded the publication of her CD in Japanese, and its distribution to those involved with the return of the Torii to Japan and to those in Okuki Bay affected by the 2011 tsunami.

Living the Classical Life

Living the Classical Life is a US-based non-profit that produces an ongoing series of filmed interviews and intimate performances. Hosted by Zsolt Bognár, Living the Classical Life explores the world of classical music through conversations with its practitioners. The Omomuki grant contributed to the filming of interviews and performances with pianist Caroline Oltmanns and opera singer Deborah Voigt.

Nakane Shiro

Nakane Shiro is President of Nakane Associates, a garden research center and landscape consultancy in Kyoto. Founded by his father, the traditional Japanese landscape designer Nakane Kinsaku, the company is renowned for restoring historic gardens in Japan as well as creating new gardens for clients around the world. The Omomuki grant funded Mr. Nakane’s April 2016 lecture on Japanese garden design at the Japan Society in New York City.

Japan Society

Japan Society is the leading U.S. organization committed to deepening mutual understanding between the United States and Japan in a global context. Now in its second century, the Society serves audiences across the United States and abroad through innovative programs in arts and culture, public policy, business, language and education. The Omomuki grant funded in part the Japan Society’s “Talks+” program, which examines issues and themes in modern Japanese art, culture and design.

Asian Cultural Council

Asian Cultural Council supports transformative cultural exchange by awarding grants to artists, scholars, and arts and humanities professionals, as well as organizations and educational institutions from the United States and Asia for research, study, and creative work in the United States and Asia and within the countries of Asia. The Omomuki grant funds in part the Asian Cultural Council’s Individual Grants program.

Portland Japanese Garden
The Portland Japanese Garden creates, maintains, and administers an authentic, world-class Japanese garden in the city of Portland, Oregon, and offers educational, cultural, artistic, horticultural, environmental, and charitable activities. It is considered to be one of two primary Japanese cultural institutions in North America, and recently launched its International Institute for Japanese Garden Arts and Culture. Omomuki provided funding for the Garden’s Kasagi Project to coordinate the return of Shinto religious artifacts washed ashore in Oregon from Japan as a result of the 2011 Tohoku Tsunami.

Po-Lin Tung
Mr. Tung is a London-based dancer. He spent four years in the Dance Department of Taipei National University of the Arts. Since then he has performed in Taiwan, the US, and Mexico with Fang Yi Sheu and Artists, the Gelsey Kirkland Academy of Classical Ballet, Tania Perez Salas Dance Company, Ballet Inc., Zest Collective Contemporary Performing Arts, and Nai-Ni Chen Dance Company. The Omomuki Foundation provided Mr. Tung with a travel grant to The Netherlands and England to take dance classes and audition for European dance companies. Mr. Tung is currently a dancer with Wayne McGregor | Random Dance.

Nicholas King

Pianist Nicholas King has an Artist Diploma from Oberlin Conservatory of Music and a Performance Diploma from The Royal Conservatory of Music – Glenn Gould School. He received the 2008 Jack Kent Cooke Award and the Jury’s Choice Award at the American Paderewski Competition. He won the Royal Conservatory of Music Glenn Gould School Concerto Competition, and was awarded the U.S. Congressional Medal of Recognition. He has performed at Walt Disney Concert Hall (2010), the Grand Hall of the Arthus House in Torun, Poland with the Torun Symphony Orchestra (2010), and Carnegie Hall (2012); and appeared on the Rosie O’Donnell Show and National Public Radio. The Omomuki grant provided Mr. King with rehearsal and performance space to prepare for his audition to the Juilliard School’s graduate program, where he has since been accepted and is currently studying.

Art of Giving Back

The mission of Art of Giving Back is to provide young people with exposure to classical music; assist young students interested in pursing classical music as a profession; and help recent graduates of classical music degree programs find valuable performance and networking opportunities. The Omomuki grant funds in part the organization’s efforts to help classical music students and recent graduates find performance opportunities.

2015 Recipients

Asian Cultural Council

Asian Cultural Council supports transformative cultural exchange by awarding grants to artists, scholars, and arts and humanities professionals, as well as organizations and educational institutions from the United States and Asia for research, study, and creative work in the United States and Asia and within the countries of Asia.

Liz Story

Liz Story is an American pianist and composer. She has published twelve albums of solo piano work for Windham Hill, RCA and DMI, and has received three Grammy nominations. Story was classically trained and studied classical piano at Hunter College and Juilliard in New York City, and jazz piano with Sanford Gold and Dick Grove.

Living the Classical Life

Living the Classical Life is a US-based non-profit that produces an ongoing series of filmed interviews and intimate performances. Hosted by Zsolt Bognár, Living the Classical Life explores the world of classical music through conversations with its practitioners.

Po-Lin Tung
PoLinMr. Tung is a New York-based dancer. He spent four years in the Dance Department of Taipei National University of the Arts. Since then he has performed in Taiwan, the US, and Mexico with Fang Yi Sheu and Artists, the Gelsey Kirkland Academy of Classical Ballet, Tania Perez Salas Dance Company, Ballet Inc., and Zest Collective Contemporary Performing Arts. He joined Nai-Ni Chen Dance Company in September of 2015. Omomuki provided travel funds that assisted Mr. Tung in training with Tania Perez Salas Dance Company and performing with them at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. and at the Los Angeles Music Center in June 2015.

Portland Japanese Garden
The Portland Japanese Garden creates, maintains, and administers an authentic, world-class Japanese garden in the city of Portland, Oregon, and offers educational, cultural, artistic, horticultural, environmental, and charitable activities. It is considered to be one of two primary Japanese cultural institutions in North America, and recently launched its International Institute for Japanese Garden Arts and Culture. Omomuki provided funding for the Garden’s Kasagi Project to coordinate the return of Shinto religious artifacts washed ashore in Oregon from Japan as a result of the 2011 Tohoku Tsunami.

Kirk Bauer
BauerMr. Bauer received a Master of Fine Arts in Photography from the School of Visual Arts in New York City and a Bachelor of Fine Arts from The University of Texas. Says Mr. Bauer, “I think ‘contemporary impressionism’ best describes my work. My art is a combination of image-making using traditional printmaking techniques with digital imaging technology. My primary media is images created with ink applied to brushed aluminum. The ink is thick, textural and opaque in some areas while transparent with a metallic sheen showing through in other areas. The image is created with a combination of hand-drawn lines and computer generated lines.” Omomuki co-sponsored a reception featuring Mr. Bauer’s work in New York City.